Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in Pennsylvania in a General Impairment Case


Pennsylvania utilizes a graduated system when it comes to the penalties imposed for driving under the influence. The penalties rise when a person ends up convicted of more the one DUI. In addition, more severe penalties are imposed if a person has a higher blood alcohol content at the time of a DUI arrest.

Specific Penalties in a General Impairment DUI Case

A general impairment in Pennsylvania is a DUI case in which a person has a blood alcohol content of between .08 percent and .099 percent. Penalties for a first offense at this level include a term of probation for six months and a $300 fine. In addition, a person will have to complete an alcohol highway traffic safety school. He or she may be ordered by the court to complete a substance abuse treatment program of some sort.

 Montgomery County DUI and Criminal Defense Lawyer 
Penalties for a second offense a 12 month driver’s license suspension, five days to six months of incarceration and a fine of up to $2,500. The safety course must be taken and substance abuse treatment may be ordered. In addition, a defendant will have an ignition interlock installed on his or her car for a year.

A third DUI conviction at this level is a second degree misdemeanor. The period of incarceration can run from 10 days to 48 months. The fine ranges from $500 to $5,000. A driver’s license will be suspended for a year and the other previously mentioned penalties come into play as well.

Penalties for a Person Under the Age of 21

Pennsylvania has zero tolerance for a person convicted of a DUI under the age of 21. As a result, the penalties are enhanced, including for a first time DUI. These enhancements include an automatic driver’s license suspension for a year on a first offense. There is also mandatory jail time of at least two days up to six months. A person under the age of 21 can be fined from $500 to $5,000.

Legal Representation

A person has a great deal at risk when it comes to a DUI charge. This includes a situation in which a person is charged with driving under the influence for the first time.

The consequences associated with a DUI charge underscore the vital necessity of obtaining professional assistance from an experienced Pennsylvania DUI attorney. A Pennsylvania DUI lawyer will schedule an initial consultation with a prospective client to discuss a case at no cost.

Related Frequently Asked Questions