The Costs of Driving Under the Influence in Pennsylvania: $$$

Arrested, prosecuted and convicted in Pennsylvania for driving under the influence is an expensive proposition in many different ways. Depending on the facts and circumstances of a particular case, a person likely faces incarceration. In addition, the fine and other costs associated with a Pennsylvania DUI case can prove to be significant.

 Montgomery County DUI and Criminal Defense Lawyer 

DUI Fine

The laws in Pennsylvania provide for the imposition of a fine when a person is convicted of driving under the influence. A Pennsylvania DUI fine depends upon the existence of prior convictions and the blood alcohol level of the individual convicted of the offense. In Pennsylvania, fines imposed for DUI can run from $300 to $10,000 depending upon the unique facts and circumstances of a particular case.

Legal Fees

A person charged with a DUI best protects his or her rights and interests by engaging the services of a qualified Pennsylvania attorney. Yes, hiring an attorney costs money. However, with proper legal assistance, a person typically is able to lessen the punitive consequences associated with a DUI charge. 

Legal fees associated with a DUI depend largely upon the specific facts and circumstances of a case. A Pennsylvania DUI attorney typical provides necessary information about fees during an initial consultation with a prospective client. There is no charge for an initial consultation with a Pennsylvania DUI attorney. such as David C. McKenzie III.

Alcohol Education or Alcohol Treatment

In the aftermath of being charged with a DUI, a motorist may face the prospect of attending alcohol education classes at a minimum. In some instances, a motorist will be ordered to participate in alcohol treatment. The cost for these services can range from $100 to $1,000 or more, depending on what is ordered by a judge. 

Automobile Insurance

A conviction for DUI is very likely to impact a person’s automobile insurance. A motorist can look for a premium increase of $1,000, if the automobile insurer elects to continue coverage. It is also very likely that an automobile insurance carrier will drop a motorist convicted of a DUI, particularly if a person has more than one conviction for the offense.